Sir Syed College

Taliparamba | Karimbam(PO) | Kannur
Accredited by NAAC ( Cycle-3 ) With 'A'

Previous Question Papers | | | Contact Us | TCS Login | MOODLE

SSR     |     NIRF

Principal's Message

"Success comes to those who work hard and stays with those, who don’t rest on the laurels of the past."



Dr. Ismail Olayikkara


Sir Syed College, a premiere institute of higher education in North Malabar, has completed 55 years of its historic journey. The college was established in 1967 by the C.D.M.E.A with a noble mission to provide higher education for the students of backward districts of north Malabar. It was also aimed at bringing the minority students to the mainstream sections of the society. The college has been successful to a great extent in fulfilling this aim. It was established with only a pre degree batch and now it offers fourteen U.G. programmes and five P.G programmes. Among them department of Chemistry and Botany are recognized research centres under Kannur University. Already thirty eight students have completed their Phd from these centres and many full time and part time scholars are currently pursuing their Ph.D. The alumni of Sir Syed College provide their service in different walks of life as Ministers. M.L.A, M.P s, I.A.S officers, Scientists, Lawyers, and University Professors. The college, which was started with only one Muslim girl student and now comprises of more than eighty percentages of girls. The majority among them hail from backward minority sections of the society. This accomplishment provides great sense of satisfaction for the college and its founders. The tranquil academic ambience with a well equipped infrastructural facilities backed by competent teachers attract students to the campus. The performance of college in extracurricular activities also enables this college to become one of the premiere institutes of the state. The college promotes the overall developments of the students there by transforming them into highly competent citizens of the nation.

Former Principals

S.V.P. Kunhahamed


   23.05.1967 |  15.04.1972

Prof P.K. Abubaker


   16.04.1972 |  02.02.1979

T.P. Muhammed Kunhi


    03.02.1979 |  21.05.1980

M. Mohammed

 M.A., LLB

   22.05.1980 |  31.03.1981

P. Abdurahiman


   01.04.1981 |  31.05.1982

M. Abdul Salim

 M.Com. (Prof. In- )

   01.06.1982 |  20.06.1983

Syed Badre Alam

  M.A., M.Com, B.L.

   21.06.1983 |  20.06.1986

M. Abdul Salim


   21.06.1986 |  31.05.1997


 M.Sc.,M.Phil (Prof. In)

   01.06.1997 |  03.08.1997

T. Mohammed

 M.Sc. PhD

   04.08.1997 |  30.06.2001

K. Mahamood


   01.07.2001 |  30.06.2003

N.K. Abdul Rahiman

 M.Com., M.Phil.

    01.07.2003 |  31.03.2005

K.T. Ahamed Kutty

 M.Sc., M.Phil.

   01.04.2005 |  30.6.2008

K. Abdulla

 M.A., M.Phil.

   01.07.2008 |  31.03.2011

Dr. K.M. Khaleel

 M.Sc, Ph.D

   01.04.2011 |  31-05-2015

Dr. P.T. Abdul Azeez

 M.A., Ph.D

   01.06.2015 |  31-03-2020

Dr. Mohamed Asraf Vazhapully

 M.Sc., B.Ed., Ph.D

   01.04.2020 |  31.05.2021

© All Rights Reserved 2019 |Developed by MeshiLogic